About me

Who am I?

/about/me.jpg

Hello there!

My name is Adam and I was born in the 90s in a tiny city in northern Spain.

When I was a kid I wanted to be many things, all of them related somehow to science. When I was 18 and it was time to decide my future, I finally chose to study Computer Science Engineering at the University of Zaragoza, obtaining the title in 2014.

What experience do I have?

I’ve been working as a Software engineer since 2012 when I joined one famous French consulting company as an intern. When I finished my MSc I kept working there for a while, using Java, OpenCMS, Spring MVC, jQuery, JSPs and many other technologies that we don’t use anymore.

Despite enjoying my time there, I decided it was time to move on and I joined another famous Spanish consulting company where I worked for a Spanish bank, developing a framework made with Java and Spring. I learnt many other technologies like Jenkins and started to be curious about Docker and Kubernetes, that were getting more and more famous.

Lastly, in 2017 I joined one of the most famous sport brands in the world as a “DevOps engineer”. I don’t like that term, but you can guess what I was going to do: Automation with Jenkins, Docker, Kubernetes, a lot of workshops to explain and introduce Git and its most famous flows, Docker workshops, Kubernetes workshops… a lot of workshops.

/about/workshop-guy.jpg

I always do my workshops with a smile on my face :)

What am I doing now?

Right now I’m working in a project related to loyalty at my current company. My responsibilities are the automation processes such as CI/CD, monitoring, alerting and also developing new features in a event-driven architecture that uses Apache Kafka. The latest big epic we have is to migrate completely from on-premises to AWS.

I still do some workshops and trainings, and I try to help not only my team but also everyone who needs it.

/about/devops-presentation.jpg

I love doing presentations with GIFs

What other things do I do?

I’m currently enrolled in a BSc in Mathematics at UNED. As I mentioned, my love for science comes from my childhood, therefore I considered studying Physics instead of Computer Science. In the end I didn’t do that, so in 2018 I thought that it would be fun to try to study Physics now. The problem is that the University lab sessions require a week of face-to-face dedicated work, and to be honest it’d be very hard to attend while having to work and these things we do as adults. So instead I chose Mathematics, which doesn’t have any lab and I also enjoy.

I also like good and long RPGs such as Final Fantasy, Persona 5, Xenoblade Chronicles… and good action games such as Red Dead Redemption 2, DOOM, etc. In terms of music, my genres are Progressive rock and metal, like Ayreon, Dream Theater, Tesseract, Tool and a long long etc. You can have a look at my Spotify profile here.

Last but not least, I’m a supporter of remote work. I’ve read some resources (Basecamp guides, GitLab guides, etc) and I’m definitely looking forward to trying it in the near future*. If you want to get in touch with me, you can have a look at my social profiles and email in the home page.

(*): No, working from home due to CoVid-19 is not remote work! ;)